Take a Chance/Chance Fashion

I must give a shout out to Chance Fashion. Without them I would not be where I am now. As they say in their mission statement, they are “dedicated to providing resources & opportunities to Fashion Artists of all levels.” I have benefited greatly from their mission.

They gave me an opportunity to hone my skills, gain confidence and make meaningfull connections.

For those of you unfamiliar with Chance let me enlighten you. Chance Fashion is a non-profit organization. They put on monthly fashion shows in Seattle as well as several shows in Olympia and now Portland. They also host a variety of photoshoots throughout the year.

They welcome any and all. Models, designers, hair stylists, make up artists, photographers, anyone in the fashion art industrt. Whether you have experience in the industry or are a complete novice, they will welcome you and give you a chance (pun totally intended).

Now, for models, I will add that they do have castings for their shows and yes sometimes people don’t get cast. But even if you don’t get cast for a particular show, you still get to work with talented coaches at the castings. That’s because there is at least one runway coach at every casting. And part of the is focused on practice and learning. So whether or not you get cast you still get great coaching and practice. And you can just keep coming back. What a great opportunity!

I will let you in on a little secret. I did not get cast the first time I tried out for a Chance show. But more on that in another post.

Anyway, back on track. If you are in the Seattle, Olympia or Portland are really I highly recommend getting involved with Chance. So many of the jobs I had this last year stemmed from connections I made through Chance. I have done photoshoots for designers that I walked for at Chance. I’ve worked with other designers on recommendation from photographers. And many other opportunities.  I have also developed  some very meaningful and supportive relationships with wonderful people that I would never have met without Chance.

You can get more information at chancefashion.org

Though not all photos were taken at a Chance event, they all happened because of the connections I made through Chance.

Designers – Trash by Tony, Aphrodite, Wai Wear, Paper Dollz Clothing, Mimi Wolfe, Gustavo Apiti Couture, Charity Rosalind.

Photographers – Sam Grahn, Brandon and Dawn Hildebrand, Hoyt Koepke, Gene Wang, Shuttereye Images.

With – Luke Marple, Tony Leonhardt, Abby Jane.

Leave a Reply

